NEWS‎ > ‎

2015 Finalists named

posted Oct 19, 2015, 11:23 PM by Buzz Newton


The NZ Brass Foundation is extremely pleased to announce the finalists for this years Young Brass Musician of the Year Competition. cornetist Megan Gooding (Invercargill), trombonist’s Dale Vale (Wellington), Andrew Yorkstone (Christchurch), and euphonium Luke Spence (Wellington) will all vie for the top brass prize in New Zealand and a winners cheque of $1000, with 2nd prize taking home $500, and 3rd $250. The final, being held at St Andrews on the Terrace on November 28 at 7.30pm, will be accompanied by the Champion Band of Australia and New Zealand - Wellington Brass, entry by gold coin donation.

The evening will be a fantastic chance to hear the finest young brass players NZ has to offer, and this prestigious competition will certainly be hard fought for, with four very fine young musicians. The 2014 Inaugural Winner, Kyle Lawson, was appointed to the Principal Cornet chair of the world famous Brighouse and Rastrick Band in the UK this year, and acknowledges the Young Brass Musician of the Year competition as a great springboard for his career - "The NZ Young Brass Musician of the year helped me gain valuable performance experience, focus and drive for future performances, and has played a massive part of where I am today"

The NZ Brass Foundation also thanks ABI Music and for their support of this years event.

For more information on the NZ Brass Foundation Young Brass Musician of the Year, please contact us on +64212242920 or